Contracts!

From the documentation for Ruby gem Contracts:

Contracts let you clearly – even beautifully – express how your code behaves, and free you from writing tons of boilerplate, defensive code. You can think of contracts as assert on steroids.

I wrote here about getting better by reviewing the literature from time to time. The literature I specifically mentioned was one of the programming language cookbooks.

Well, recently I reviewed the Ruby Cookbook (while my car was being serviced) and saw Recipe 10.16, about Contracts. The recipe had code for a Contracts module; I was delighted to find later that since the book’s publication date [2005 — but a new edition is in work!], the Contracts idea has been made into a Ruby gem: Contracts.

You’re gonna love this!

See:

2 thoughts on “Contracts!

  1. Very bummed to see this was the last post on this blog. I hope you start back up someday or if you have, please point me to the URL. I read this blog in its entirety today. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

